Thirty Years of Simming

This February 2019 will be the 30th anniversary of the release of the original Sim City, the city building game that spawned a host of Maxis/EA Sim games including the Sims.

Thirty years! That is how long I have been playing “Sims” games. I first played the game on my Commodore Amiga 1000. I remember that the game came on a single floppy disk. Later I got the DOS version and then the Windows version of the same game. The DOS game was better than the Windows version. The latter would crash a lot of times.

What followed was several Sims games, but my favorite was the holy trinity of playing the same city on Sim City 2000, Sim Copter, and Streets of Sim City.

For thirty years, I have been hooked on Sim games. When my son was a kid, he liked Sim Tower and SimFarm. I hoped that he learned stuff from playing SimEarth.

When The Sims (v1) made its appearance in 2000, I was a little let down.  I don’t know why, but I was expecting there to be more to it and when Sim City 4 made its appearance, I lost interest in The Sims for a while.

And then for about a year, I was addicted to Spore.

I skipped out The Sims 2 but eventually did buy it right after Sims 3 appeared only because I wanted to compare the two. Eventually, I got all of the Sims 2 titles in a limited time Maxis give-away.

Today I own the Sims 3, the Sims 4 and all of their expansion packs, game packs, stuff packs, and etc.

My all-time favorite of all the Sim family of games is without a doubt The Sims 3. but I now play the Sims 4 several nights each week. I am an admitted addict of that game.

Thinking about the anniversary, I was curious to see what happened to the original SimCity. I learned that in 2008 the source code was made public and open source. The original game was later published as Micropolis and it can be downloaded from the Microsoft store online.

It looks just the way that I remember it on my Commodore Amiga 1000.

Comments?